Mapa Web Contactar

Inicio » Projects » Historia de los derechos de las mujeres en el siglo XX
English (United Kingdom)Español (spanish formal Internacional)

Research

 
History of Women’s Rights in the 20th Century PDF Print E-mail

“Bartolomé de las Casas” Human Rights Institute of the Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, funded by the Comunidad de Madrid [Autonomous Region of Madrid]. 
   
Funding Body: Comunidad de Madrid (Autonomous Region of Madrid)
Researcher in charge: María Eugenia Rodríguez Palop
Duration:  2009


This project was designed to address the analysis of feminism in the 20th century and its impact, particularly, on women’s rights. The last century represented a crucial moment for the feminist movement. In the first half of the century female suffrage was legally won, women’s organisations were consolidated especially in the US and Europe, and the connection between feminism and socialism was strengthened. In the second half, different coexisting tendencies within feminism (liberal, radical socialist and/or Marxist, among others) interrelated with each other to produce, finally, the emergence of new tendencies and theoretical positions. These tendencies revolved around the dichotomies equality/difference and modernity /postmodernity, as well as the oppression pereived in the constructions of race, colonialism and nationalism. And so difference feminism emerged, cultural feminism, postmodernist feminism, lesbian feminism and black feminism. In short, one cannot deny that the history of feminism and the demands of women in the 20th century is complex and multiform, so it is not surprising that relations between this tradition and that of human rights are also highly complex. We will devote a considerable part of our efforts to studying this complexity and thus we hope to contribute to achieving the social changes necessary to subvert the structures of domination to which which women have been and still are subject, either implicitly or explicitly.  

Research Team:
Barranco Avilés, Mª del Carmen  mcarmen.barranco@uc3m.es
Dorado Porras, Javier  javier.dorado@uc3m.es
Ramiro Avilés, Miguel Ángel  miguelangel.ramiro@uc3m.es
Lema Añón, Carlos carlos.lema@uc3m.es
Rodríguez Palop, Mª Eugenia eugenia.rodriguez@uc3m.es
Blázquez Martín, Diego diego.blazquez@uc3m.es
Bengoechea Gil, Mª de los Ángeles mariaangeles.bengoechea@uc3m.es
Pérez de la Fuente, Óscar oscar.perez@uc3m.es
Cuenca Gómez, Patricia  patricia.cuenca@uc3m.es
Pelé, Antonio Illie antonio.pele@uc3m.es
Ribotta, Silvina silvina.ribotta@uc3m.es
Jiménez Cano, Roberto Marino robertomarino.jimenez@uc3m.es
Palacios, Agustina agustina.palacios@uc3m.es
Iglesias Garzón, Alberto alberto.iglesias@uc3m.es
Morente Parra, Vanesa vanesa.morente@uc3m.es
Saravia, Gregorio gregorio.saravia@uc3m.es
Lloredo Alix, Luis Manuel luismanuel.lloredo@uc3m.es